DPU's statutes stipulate that a senate must be elected, which meets twice a year to deal with topics relating to science, research and teaching.

Members of the Senate include the chairman, the deputy, all centre directors, representatives of the non-professional teaching staff and the student bodies for human medicine and dentistry.